A Year at Mission Hill logo

Ten videos. One year. A public school trying to help children learn and grow. The national conversation we need to be having.

Join the conversation:

What can the larger world of American education take away from one school's experiences?

Watch

The World Becomes What You Teach

Insitute for Humane Education

Listen

Storycorps "National Teachers Initiative"

Eagle Rock School and Professional Development Center

Do

Nominate an Ashoka Changemaker School like Mission Hill

Ashoka's Start Empathy Initiative

Go Deeper. Find more resources for each chapter.

Good Morning Mission Hill

What can the larger world of American education take away from one school's experiences? The series is complete, but the work goes on in communities around the world, and this website will stay live to help their efforts. And there's more! Visit Good Morning Mission Hill to learn what Tom and Amy Valens are creating next from the 150 hours of footage they shot.

Chapters

1. Why We’re Here

Thursday, 1/31/13

2. Beginning the Year

Thursday, 2/14/13

3. Making it Real

Thursday, 2/28/13

4. Love and Limits

Thursday, 3/14/13

5. The Eye of the Dragon

Thursday, 3/28/13

6. Like a Family

Thursday, 4/11/13

7. Behind the Scenes

Thursday, 4/25/13

8. The World of Work

Thursday, 5/9/13

9. Seeing the Learning

Thursday, 5/23/13

10. The Freedom to Teach

Thursday, 6/6/13